I’m BAD!

The “Bad” short film is really spectacular.  Released in 1987 (–> 2+5 –> 7), just two years before I experienced my first encounter with racism, Bad challenges us to look at why we think the way we do.

Darryl is a young black man from the projects who is striving to do good with his life.  He goes off to school, educating himself, rising above the stereotypes of the black man from the projects.  When he returns, his friends can’t handle he changes and like crabs in a bucket, do everything to bring him back down to their level of mediocrity.

Actually, his old crew are definitely of the negative persuasion as their idea of making it is to show how “bad” you are by mugging someone.  Full of hate, anger, disregard for another human being.

I’m going to stop here because I have to ask myself, why is it that there is this stereotype of what a black man from the projects is like?  Are they ALL into petty crime?  Should I be clutching my purse if I see a black man walking towards me? Unfortunately, this is what many people think.  It’s called prejudice.  And to make it worse, why when someone wants to do better with their life would we ever try to sabotage that? Where is the love? Where is the encouragement?

I absolutely love ANY dance routine from Michael Jackson, but I really love the dance segment in “Bad”.  Did you know that a lot of the inspiration for this scene was from the “Cool” scene in the West Side Story (another film dealing with the issue of racism).

What’s even cooler is that West Side Story is based on Romeo and Juliet (yet another script dealing with the issue of racism).

Gosh!  Racism has been around forever! Why? Why do we not love one another?  It’s all about ego and pride.  We strive to want to look better than another.  We want to be revered.  We want to be looked upon as special.  Don’t get me wrong we are unique and special but it is not because of anything that we do.  It’s because GOD made us special.  HE made us unique!  He made us ALL in HIS image.  We are ONE.  When we realize that, that we are not separate, we are not enemies, and we become allies, in love, to glorify the ONE who made us, we will truly heal the world.

Lastly I’ll leave you with this, Matthew 22:36-40:

“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

I love you my neighbors!

Remember, it’s all for LOVE!

~ by lilwendy on June 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
