Humility and Unity

Philippians 2:1-11

This is Paul’s letter to the Philippians.  He is imprisoned but still joyful.  He writes to the Philippians and in this section I’m focusing on is his exhortation to unity and humility.

One of the things I found very interesting is that unity CALLS FOR humility and that if we mimic Jesus, if we follow his example, the church (as a body of Christ followers, not a building or religion) will work out their problems/differences because they will be of one mind.

What is humility anyway… because this seems to be important.

First thing I thought of was humiliation, embarrassment… this does not seem very appealing! LOL

Humiliation is only so if the humbling of yourself is done against your will.  Someone putting you in your place for example.

The proper way is to humble YOURSELF before God, confess your sins, and realize that all you have is a gift from God.

To say that I am a sinner is not a pity thing or poor me I’m hopeless, it’s just a reality check that we fall short of God’s standards all the time and because of this we are in need of God’s mercy and grace.

Ephesians 4:17-24 talks about unity being achieved through rejecting all that corrupts and being Christ-like.

When I am likeminded with Jesus, I will be in unity with Him.  Likewise, other Christ-followers who are likeminded with Jesus will be likeminded with me… and there is the root of our unity.

Philippians 2:3 says let nothing be done through strife or vainglory.

Strife: self-serving, self-seeking, self-promoting

Vainglory: looking to esteem yourself

But in lowliness of mind let each esteem the other better than themselves.

Lowliness of mind: humility

Proverbs 22:4 says by humility and the fear of the Lord are riches, honor and life.

Ill end with this because this was just something I was briefly looking up,

2 Chronicles 7:14

If my people which are called by my name shall humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and will heal their land.

This pretty much spells out what we need to do to heal the world:

Of course we need to start with the Man in the Mirror and

Humble ourselves

Pray

Seek God

Turn from our wicked ways

Like I said, this is just a few quick thoughts.  I hope to study this more in the weeks ahead.

Thanks for reading!

 

~ by lilwendy on December 30, 2011.

One Response to “Humility and Unity”

  1. Humility is a fine quality of a person; it’s more than modesty.

    My mind wandered to the following thought after reading your other recent post.

    Michael is a good example to me of a humble person.
    I agree, he’s not a saint, but rather a fellow human being. Meanwhile, his heart has shown to be bigger than his ego. His acts of kindness weren’t ever followed by “look what I did”.
    He knows that it’s in an act of kindness itself that is an opportune blessing, not recognition for such acts.

    I was always glad when Paparazzi didn’t feel it as important to follow him into hospitals when he visited children. Not only such an event should be a private affair treated with the utmost respect; his kindness has been genuine.

    Sometimes I feel “funny” about agreeing that he should be recognized for his humanitarianism for this reason. However, this world is so hurting & so in need of people who serve a a power of example, that I resolve in realizing that credit should be given where credit is due.

    Though I realize that Michael will not be respected for his humanitarianism until the doubters of his innocence are awoken to his truth. His compassionate way is meanwhile incentive for uplifting his legacy by proving the “mongrels & vultures” (Stevie Wonder) & ignorant public in their craw, wrong.

    We have more work ahead.

Leave a Reply

 
