My Mind is the Magic

Confession time.  I’ve got some house cleaning to do.

What is the sense in learning things if you’re not going to apply it to your own life?

I’m not learning things so I can judge others! Lol

So lately I’ve been reading the tweets of a certain user that shall remain nameless as I don’t want to promote them or put them down in any way.   Well let’s just say between gold pants pictures and that user, my thoughts have not been the best.  Oh yeah I justified saying that it’s only in my head it’s not like I’m acting upon any of these thoughts.  And let me tell you some of the stuff that happens in that mental world is sheer magic! 😉

Then I had to do a self-check and more importantly, a TRUTH check.  Is it really ok because it’s only in my head?  What does the Bible say about this?  What do success principles (for those of you still doubting the Bible) say about this?

Before I get into this, isn’t it funny how most people who talk about “sexual fantasies” are talking to men?  Hey there are some horny women out there too! LOL

So I started in Matthew 5:27-30:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery. ’But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. If your right eye causes you to stumble, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell. And if your right hand causes you to stumble, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell.”

WHOA!!! Crapola!  Yep I’ve been lusting after a certain celeb that we all know and love and according to the Bible I HAVE ALREADY COMMITTED THE ADULTERY WITH HIM IN MY HEART!!!  Now I know some of you are saying, yeah but that doesn’t apply to me because I’m single… it’s not adultery.  Think again.   Adultery is willing intercourse with a person other than your legal spouse.  If they are not legally yours (whether you are married or not), then you are committing adultery!

Ok so to be honest I was like, what is the big freakin’ deal?  It’s not harming anyone!  It’s only in my mind!  Well here is a page FULL of Bible verses encouraging me to guard my thoughts

http://www.openbible.info/topics/thoughts_and_the_mind  Please take the time to read this page.  It is very clear!

I don’t understand the ways of God sometimes and I don’t claim to understand the power of my mind, but many success principles also deal with the mind, law of attraction, visualization as being powerful in bringing things to fruition.

One of my favourite success quotes is:

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.

Watch your words, for they become actions.

Watch your actions, for they become habits.

Watch your habits, for they become character.

Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

My little mental flings could be having an impact on my life and more importantly my salvation more than I could even imagine.

Am I willing to take that risk?  Hell no!!!

Ironically as I was wrestling with this topic in my mind , and similarly the idolization of MJ, @philpot70 sent out a series of tweets on idolization.  I don’t know her spiritual walk but what I do know is God speaks in one voice! Amen!  She said “Michael 4 me is very spiritual person. When we idolize him I think it hurts him. I truly do. *smooches*”  I AGREE!!!

Anyone who loves God (as I believe MJ does) wants all the glory to go to God and wants to help others build a relationship with Him.  What a heavy burden it must be to have millions of women not only glorifying you (some even going as far as to say MJ IS their god) but to also have women committing mental adultery because you are so dang sexy?!  That is a huge burden to carry as you would feel like a stumbling block… one hindering the godly mental lives of his fans.

Ultimately though we are responsible for our own lives.  We are to look at ourselves, point the finger at what we need to change.  Here’s a great quote from MJ himself “People don’t look at themselves honestly.  They don’t look at themselves and point the finger.  It’s always the other guy’s fault.  You should change yourself.  Look at yourself, make better of yourself.”

Like I said in my tweets earlier, this is in no way pointing a finger at anyone other than myself.  I just share what I’m going through and the things I’m learning and changing in hopes that it will touch someone else out there going through the same thing.

If my downfalls spur you on to a deep relationship with God and yourself, then my screw ups have now been turned into positive.   And as it says in Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

God bless you on your journey!

~ by lilwendy on November 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
