I am…. Barnabas?

In my quest to be living my life for God and in His will, it was suggested that I take assessments like the “What Bible Character am I?” ones online to see how God inspired and used someone similar to me.

So I took this one http://www.allthetests.com/quiz13/quizpu.php?testid=1111038138 and it says I’m like Barnabas.

Well I really don’t know too much about Barnabas so I did a little searching into who Barnabas is.

Source(s): http://www.keyway.ca/htm2002/barnabas.htm , http://gardenofpraise.com/bibl60s.htm , http://www.wordlibrary.co.uk/article.php?id=603

  • First shows up in Acts 4:32-37
  • Real name is Joseph but Barnabas was a nickname given to him on the basis of his character
  • Barnabas means son of encouragement
  • Leader of the church
  • Influential
  • Humble
  • Kind
  • Gentle in speech and manner
  • He seemed to like nearly everyone, and nearly everyone liked him.
  • Honest
  • Generous
  • Trusted and respected by other believers
  • He was a good man and a good Christian
  • He was led by the Holy Spirit to preach with Paul
  • He was sent by the Holy Spirit on a special mission
  • Always looked for the best in people
  • A verse fitting to Barnabas: Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Ephesians 4:29 (NIV) (hahahahahaha I have this posted up in my kitchen!)
  • His ministry was one to give birth to other ministries
  • Barnabas isn’t said to have preached but his life and character is what spoke volumes
  • Barnabas helped bring forth Saul’s ministry
  • Barnabas’ recognition is not due to something he did in and of himself to launch him in the spotlight.  It is evidenced by the lives he encouraged into the spotlight while he remained in the background.

Ok after reading these points… THIS IS SO ME!!!

To end, I will reiterate my purpose statement and I believe you will agree that maybe I am a Barnabas at heart:

My purpose is to use my empathy and patience to encourage and support the world to become what God intended them to be.

Nuff said.

 

~ by lilwendy on October 29, 2011.

One Response to “I am…. Barnabas?”

  1. I am Barnabas too! Thanks for sharing this site. Much Love and Blessings, Only By Gods Grace

Leave a Reply

 
