Fall down… get back up!

So many of us, me included, want so badly to make a positive impact in the world.  There is so much to do.  So many lives to touch.  So much money needed to be redistributed.  I think sometimes we get overwhelmed with all the things that need to be done that we just THINK about it and don’t actually DO nearly as much as we are capable of.

Where in the world do we come up with the idea that we have to help everyone?  We just need to impact one.

Every little bit truly does help.

I saw a man with a sign that said “If 10 people would each give me $2.00, I would have shelter for the night”.  So true!  I hate to admit though that I actually did nothing.  I didn’t tell the man driving the car to stop so I could give $2.00.  I didn’t give the $20 I really could have afforded to give. I just drove by.

Why?

Was my agenda more important? Was stopping an inconvenience? Yes, but compared to a man not having a place to sleep for the night?

Honestly, the thought that went through my mind was “I wonder if he’s a scammer.  I wonder if he REALLY needs the money”  I guess I was afraid of getting taken advantage of.

I don’t know why I’m sharing this with you.  I guess to just say that I believe it’s our responsibility… MY responsibility to positively impact the world first and foremost for God and secondly to show what Michael stood for and the example he set for us. Sometimes we will help those genuinely in need.  Sometimes we will get scammed.  Regardless, we need to continue doing what is right.

Yes, we may falter in this mission (as I did) but I will pick myself up, and do better next time.

~ by lilwendy on August 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “Fall down… get back up!”

  1. I completely agree. I used to question whether or not I would give money to a person on the street, but now I give whenever I’m asked if I can spare some change. Its not up to me to decide if a person will feed his child with what I give him or go buy liquor, that’s between him & God..but it’s certainly my duty to do the right thing. Thank you for your posting!

    ~CK

  2. I am guilty of focusing too much on the big picture and forgetting the little things. This was a nice reminder that doing big things takes time. Even though you did not help the man on the street ; I applaud you for admitting that you messed up. Most people don’t even notice.

Leave a Reply

 
